Bobcaygeon was incorporated as village in 1876, and became known as the "Hub of the Kawarthas". Its recorded name bob-ca-je-wan-unk comes either from the Mississauga Ojibwa word baabaagwaajiwanaang "at the very shallow currents", giishkaabikojiwanaang "at the cliffed cascades" or obaabikojiwanaang "at currented rocky narrows", or from the French beau bocage "beautiful hedged farmland". The first lock in the Trent-Severn Waterway was built in Bobcaygeon in 1833.
The town of Bobcaygeon sits on three islands connected by bridges with Pigeon Lake on the East and Sturgeon Lake to the West. It is about a half-hour drive from the City of Kawartha Lakes, an hour from Peterborough and two hours from Toronto.
Lock #32 of the Trent-Severn Waterway system runs right through the centre of the Village supplying a steady line of boats travelling to each lake. It is a historic, unique town and with all the recreational activities available in Bobcaygeon, it is not a surprise that cottages are much sought after in and around this scenic community.
Size: Approx. 3500 people
Nearest Towns: Fenelon Falls, Lindsay